Albright Institute Logo

Cocktails and Conversation

Professor Takis Metaxas, the Faculty Director for the MK Albright Institute and Computer Science Professor

When: Thursday, February 28, 5:30 - 7:00 PM

Where: Home of Jody Strakosch '79, 2200 Newton Avenue South, Minneapolis

Cost: Free

Please RSVP by Monday, February 25th.

We are thrilled that Professor Metaxas reached out to Martha Goldberg Aronson to let her know that he will be in Minneapolis attending a conference and offered to meet with the club.  Takis will talk to us about the Albright Institute and its events, his research on online electoral propaganda, current student interest in computing, the rebuilding of the Science Center, and anything else we might want to discuss!

His bio states "I'm a Professor of Computer Science at Wellesley College, studying online social media, primarily related to the propagation of information and misinformation, prediction of political events, and in developing tools that help users evaluate the trustworthiness of information.  In particular, with my Wellesley colleagues and students, we have been studying the problem of propaganda and online misinformation since 2002."

Join us for what promises to be a very interesting discussion!

If you would like to bring a guest, please RSVP below (mobile) or at the left (web) as you would for yourself.  


Thursday, 02/28/19 at 5:30pm - Thursday at 7:00pm | iCal


Home of Jody Strakosch ‘79
2200 Newton Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55405

[ Get Directions ]

  RSVP Here...

Please enter your details below and click the RSVP button at the bottom.
Note: red fields are required.
First Name:
Last Name:
Degree/Year if applicable:

Please type the digits shown here into this box:

Note: a confirmation email will not be sent.

Look Who's Coming:

Mary Szto
Alissa Lyon
  NorthBeast Pet Care
MaryAnne & John Mauriel
  Alum & Prof.Emeritus (he
Tina Shaffer
  Dermatology Consultants
Madeline Harms
  Gustavus Adolphus College
Sally Jorgensen
Sara Pearce
Susan Plimpton
Marjahn Golban
Rebecca Hawthorne
Peter Hawthorne
Susan Lawrenz-Smith
Laura Lane
Martha Aronson
Jenn Lind Price
Madeline Bianchi
Gail Bohr
  District Court of Minnesota
Michelle Cheuk
  UBF Consulting
PJ Flanigan
Sophia Temkin
Sophia Temkin
Noah Marell
Elizabeth Cogswell
Mija Van Der Wege
Mary Jo Nelson
Laura Austrian
Bridgette Bornstein Straub
Nayana Jha
  US Trust
Lucia Sandberg
Joan Kanavich
Chuck Jorgensen
Neala Shager
Jennifer Swihart Voegele
Dan Aronson
... a total of 38 guests.
Note: to opt out from this list please sign in, go to My Account and change your preferences under My RSVPs.

Join or renew your membership here